Uncategorized

Grandma’s flowers…Kwiaty babci

"Słoneczniki babci (Grandma's sunflowers)" by Rebecca Górzyńska--Delphina Rose
On the edge of Grandma’s garden, against a wall, there is a row of happy sunflowers. Na skraju ogrodu babci, pod ścianą, rosną radosne słoneczniki.

June was a very busy, very joyful month for me–I went to the USA to see my family, roadtripped down to North Carolina to celebrate my friend’s wedding, and then…I got married!

Czerwiec był dla mnie bardzo intensywny i radosny–pojechałam do Stanów aby odwiedzać moją rodzinę, potem udałam się do Karoliny Północnej na ślub mojej koleżanki a potem…wyszłam za mąż!

My new husband and I are back in Poland now, and after recovering from some spectacular jet-lag (we spent our honeymoon in California, so we ended up going through 10 time zones in about two days), we headed out to the country to spend the weekend with his grandparents.

Mój nowy mąż i ja już jesteśmy w Polsce, i po wyzdrowieniu z ,,jet-lagu” (spędziliśmy miesiąc miodowy w Kalifornii, więc podróżowaliśmy przez 10 stref czasowych w ciągu dwóch dni), udaliśmy się na wieś, aby spędzić weekend z dziadkami.

Although they live in the city in the winter, they spend the summer in a small village 65 miles north-east of Warsaw. We drove through miles and miles of flat farmland, cornfields on one side, sometimes cows on the other, across the river Bug, past the White Wilderness Forest (Puszcza Biała), and through a few little towns (also full of cows and fields).

Zimą mieszkają w mieście, ale latem mieszkają we wsi 100 km od Warszawy. Jechaliśmy przez kilometry płaskich pól i łąk, pola kukurydzy po jednej stronie, czasami krowy na drugiej, przez rzekę Bug, przez Puszczy Białej i różne miasteczka (też pełne krów i pól).

Their little yellow house is right across from the village church. The house is close to the road, with a front door that anyone hardly ever uses, a tiny flower garden, and some geese statues to keep the flowers company. The back door opens onto the long yard, the fields beyond, and the forest beyond that.

Ich malutki żółty domek jest naprzeciwko kościoła. Dom jest blisko drogi i z produ ma rzadko używane drzwi, mały ogród kwiatowy i jakieś rzeźby gęsi, które dotrzymują towarzystwa kwiatom. Tylne drzwi wychodzą na długie podwórko, pola i lasy.

black-eyed susans and snapdragons by Rebecca Górzyńska--Delphina Rose
In the front garden, there were snapdragons and something that looked like black-eyed susans. Były wyżliny/lwie paszcze i kwiaty, które wyglądają jak ,,black-eyed susans” (kwiaty z USA).

We had rosół (chicken noodle soup), placki (fried hashbrown cakes), and pierożki z jagodami (pierogi with blueberries). After church on Sunday, while my husband was reading about Woodrow Wilson in the hammock, I took my box of pencils and a folding chair out to the garden and drew some flowers. It was a lovely and relaxing way to spend the day. (And I have the sunburn to prove it!)

Jedliśmy rosół, placki i pierożki z jagodami. W niedzielę po kościele, podczas gdy mój mąż czytał na hamaku książkę o Woodrow Wilsonie, wzięłam pudełko z kredkami i krzesło do ogrodu i rysowałam kwiaty. To był piękny i relaksujący sposób na spędzenie dnia. (A przy okazji się spaliłam na słońcu!)

Leave a Reply

