Textile Art

Ave Maris Stella: Clouds

I started on the clouds yesterday.

Ave Maris Stella clouds wip

Ave Maris Stella clouds wip

They are silver-grey silk backed with fusible web.

Ave Maris Stella clouds wip

Now I am finishing the edges with beads– Mill Hill petite glass beads color ‘ice’. It’s a time-consuming way to finish raw-edge applique, but I think it looks shiny!

Ave Maris Stella clouds wip

I got this far and then . . . ran out of beads.

Ave Maris Stella clouds wip

Even backed with fusible web (basically glued on), the silk frays terribly. So I have to be very, very careful with this section while I wait for more beads.

Ave Maris Stella clouds wip

I think the sea needs some more white beads near the two big spirals in the center. And some critters!

Ave Maris Stella clouds wip

Ave Maris Stella clouds wip

3 thoughts on “Ave Maris Stella: Clouds

Leave a Reply

